Tour de Suisse 2023

Latest News from the Race

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tour de Suisse overview
DateJune 11-18, 2023
Start locationEinsiedeln
Finish locationAbtwil
Previous editionTour de Suisse 2022

Stage 3: Mattias Skjelmose (Trek-Segafredo) took his first WorldTour win on the stage 3 summit finish at Villars-sur-Ollon, and in doing so, moved into the overall race lead. In what was the first of three successive days of climbing, it wasn't the toughest stage, but it shook up the overall classification. / As it happened

Stage 2: Biniam Girmay took the stage 2 sprint victory ahead of Arnaud Démare and Wout Van Aert at the Tour de Suisse on a largely-flat 174-kilometre stage that was destined for the sprinters. Despite two long breakaways and then a crash within 30km from the line, Girmay proved fastest in Nottwil. / As it happened

Stage 1: Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) won the opening time trial stage of the 2023 Tour de Suisse by a comfortable margin on the 12.7km course. His time was six seconds quicker than pre-race favourites Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep), and 10 seconds up on Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma). / As it happened

Tour de Suisse History

The 2023 Tour de Suisse returns with an eight-day race, June 11-18, and once again delivers lots of climbing and two time trials. Like its counterpart held in France, Critérium du Dauphiné, the Tour de Suisse is also used by pro teams and riders as a tuneup for the Tour de France.

Team Ineos Grenadiers have won the past three editions of the race. Last year, Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) claimed final victory at the Tour de Suisse after he overhauled leader Sergio Higuita (Bora-Hansgrohe) in the stage 8 time trial, which was won by Remco Evenepoel (QuickStep-AlphaVinyl).  Thomas went on to finish third at the Tour de France.

In 2021, Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) took over the race lead following his stage 5 victory.The Ecuadorian then held onto his lead through the final three stages, including a mountainous final stage to Andermatt, to win the overall title. Carapaz finished third that year at the Tour.

Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) won the Tour de Suisse in 2019  and went on to win the Tour de France that year.

The Tour de Suisse, first raced in 1933, did not take place in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Before Bernal, the last Tour winner to ride in Switzerland as preparation for the Tour had been 2010 winner Andy Schleck, with the Critérium du Dauphiné often favoured as it allows for a longer recovery.

Slovakian Peter Sagan has the most stage wins, with 17, but never took the overall title. Three riders are tied with 11 stage wins, and they all came away with overall victories - the 2009 overall winner Fabian Cancellara, three-time winner Hugo Koblet (1950, 1953, 1955) and three-time champion Ferdinand Kübler (1942, 1948, 1951). Italian Pasquale Fornara is the leader in both number of overall victories, four times in the 1950s, and has spent the most days in the leader’s jersey, 17. 

For the 86th edition, all the 18 teams on the UCI WorldTour will compete in the men’s Tour de Suisse. They will be joined by five ambitious UCI ProTeams, three of which have received an invitation including TotalEnergies. Two wildcards spots will be Tudor Pro Cycling Team, founded by Fabian Cancellara, and Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team. There will be no Swiss National Team in the men’s starting field this year.

Tour de Suisse route

The distance from the start in Einsiedeln to the finish in St. Gallen is just over 55 kilometres as the crow flies. For the field of riders in the 86th Tour de Suisse however, it is over 1,100 kilometres with more than 18,000 metres of elevation gain to traverse between start and finish.

Start list

Data powered by FirstCycling

Tour de Suisse Schedule

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DateStageStart time (CEDT)Finish time
June 11, 2023Stage 1: Einsiedeln - Einsiedeln, 12.7km14:2517:20
June 12, 2023Stage 2: Beromünster - Nottwil, 173.7km13:0516:50
June 13, 2023Stage 3: Tafers - Villars-sur-Ollon, 143.8km13:4017:20
June 14, 2023Stage 4: Monthey - Leukerbad, 152.5km12:4016:35
June 15, 2023Stage 5: Fiesch - La Punt, 211km10:4316:35
June 16, 2023Stage 6: La Punt - Oberwil-Lieli, 215.3km10:4816:20
June 17, 2023Stage 7: Tübach - Weinfelden, 162.7km12:1516:35
June 18, 2023Stage 8: St.Gallen - Abtwil, 25.7km13:4517:00

Tour de Suisse teams

  • AG2R Citroën Team
  • Alpecin-Deceuninck
  • Astana Qazaqstan Team
  • Bahrain Victorious
  • Bora-Hansgrohe
  • Cofidis
  • EF Education-Easypost
  • Groupama-FDJ
  • Ineos Grenadiers
  • Intermarché-Circus-Wanty
  • Israel-Premier Tech
  • Jumbo-Visma
  • Movistar Team
  • Soudal Quick-Step
  • Team Arkea-Samsic
  • Team DSM 
  • Team Jayco AlUla
  • Trek-Segafredo
  • UAE Team Emirates
  • Q36.5
  • TotalEnergies
  • Tudor

Critérium du Dauphiné History

Top News on the Race

Related Features